Time for A New Addition, Part 4: All That Money Can Buy

Over the past few weeks, I have shared some of my thoughts over adopting a cat or two. If you want to catch up on the series, here is Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3.

We’ve talked about space, time and now we will tackle money. How much is enough? Another unanswerable question!

While I cannot answer how much is enough, I can think about the expenses connected to having a pet. First, there may be an adoption fee. Since I will be adopting from a shelter (which I will talk about in the next post), this is usually a small fee just to cover vaccinations, spaying, neutering and micro-chipping. I am happy to pay this as I appreciate all of the work that the many shelters do to try to help homeless animals. Additional donations above and beyond this fee are often appreciated, just ask. They are also often looking for non-cash donations and your time, too!

Then there is bringing home baby, or babies. As I mentioned in an earlier post, our apartment is not very large. We would be looking at getting a climbing tree for the cats, as well as needing to purchase a couple of litter boxes, litter, food and water bowls, maybe even a bed or two. In time we might look into setting up a cage system so they could hang out on the balcony, or even some shelves attached to the walls for climbing.

Yearly veterinarian check ups must be budgeted – we want our furry friends to be healthy! We would schedule a veterinarian appointment shortly after brining them home just to make sure no health issues were needing immediate attention and to get to know the veterinarian, as we have not had a pet in our new home town.

Many people do not want to think about their pets getting severely ill or meeting with an accident. I don’t either, but I believe it is important. Financially would my household be able to handle major veterinarian bills? Since we are looking at two cats, should we research pet insurance? I have not had it before, so it would require further research. It is sad to even contemplate, but it is something that held me back from adopting a pet in my younger years. A pet is a part of the family, and we need to be ready to take care of that family member even in the worst of times.

I can’t say that these thoughts have brought me any closer to a decision. However, I do know one thing I don’t have to decide: I am a cat person.  I like all kinds of animals, but I like living with cats the most. Next week I will explore more about that. Phew, one question that has an answer!

ID-10084442

“Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net”.

Leave a Reply

